IPGY
ipingguoyuan.com
Home >   AppsCategory >  Books & Reference > Sky Map
Sky Map

Sky Map

4.2

Installs:50000000+
Download APK
  • Sky Map
  • Sky Map 0
  • Sky Map 1
  • Sky Map 2
  • Sky Map 3
  • Sky Map 4
  • Sky Map 5
  • Sky Map 6
  • Sky Map 7
Sky Map
Sky Map is a hand-held planetarium for your Android device. Use it to identify stars, planets, nebulae and more. Originally developed as Google Sky Map, it has now been donated and open sourced.

Troubleshooting/FAQ


The Map doesn't move/points in the wrong place

Make sure you haven't switched into manual mode. Does your phone have a compass? If not, Sky Map cannot tell your orientation. Look it up here: http://www.gsmarena.com/

Try calibrating your compass by moving it in a figure of 8 motion or as described here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k1EPbAapaeI.

Are there any magnets or metal nearby that might interfere with the compass?

Try switching off "magnetic correction" (in settings) and see if that is more accurate.

Why is autolocation not supported for my phone?

In Android 6 the way permissions work has changed. You need to enable the location permission setting for Sky Map as described here: https://support.google.com/googleplay/answer/6270602?p=app_permissons_m

The Map is jittery

If you have a phone that lacks a gyro then some jitter is to be expected. Try adjusting the sensor speed and damping (in settings).

Do I need an internet connection?

No, but some functions (like entering your location manually) won't work without one. You'll have to use the GPS or enter a latitude and longitude instead.

Can I help test the latest features?

Sure! Join our beta testing program and get the latest version. https://play.google.com/apps/testing/com.google.android.stardroid

Find us elsewhere:

GitHub: https://github.com/sky-map-team/stardroid
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/113507592330/
Twitter: http://twitter.com/skymapdevs
See more
Additional App Information
  • Category:
  • Version:
    Varies with device
  • Requires Android:
    Varies with device
  • Publish Date:
    2022-06-05
Review
4.2
Review:490015
5 323040
4 58871
3 28256
2 19409
1 60439

Is there anything new? Please tell everyone.

Submit
Ben 2022-07-18

0
Nice, but not accurate at all. You can test it your self by looking at the moon, and then using the app. Mine was way off. Seems more like a nice gimmick than an accurate star map.
Hummingbird Phoenix 2022-07-15

5
I've been hoping to see this app. have the need for attention and refinement attended to. The time is given in the location's time zone is inaccurate, UT. Is a better idea. The Ecliptic is poorly defined, a simple color added would be a huge improvement in ease of use. And why not color the Celestial Equator while at it? And then, why not some astrology oriented additions? Like adjustable Lunar Mansion demarcations, zodiacal houses,.. That would complete my wish list for the time being.
Daxxydog 2022-07-15

9
Worked great for years and I really enjoyed it, but not anymore. I had this app on many phones, but it has consistently failed over the last two installs. The last install would not calibrate no matter what I did and when I put out on a new phone this week, it will move on the manual screen but locks the screen when on auto near "Nadir". I'm sad. Now I have to find another app that will work.
Mom Gee 2022-07-11

0
I mainly for planets. Most of the time it won't calibrate correctly. Tonight the moon up in the south. It was showing it was below the western horizon. Uninstalled several times. Sometimes it works, most of the time it won't work.
david gags 2022-07-10

0
I thought you could navigate the app with controls or you would see yourself from a checkpoint like earth or sun, but I was shocked to find this app is wasted only giving 2d sketch and names of imaginary shapes of the night sky. Bad app.
Teresa Cafe 2022-07-09

6
I don't get it. It never calibrates or matches to the sky. Also, not fond of the default messy display with all the words on the screen I changed understand. The majority of people using such an app want to see the basics first, ie: Moon, Mars, Jupiter, Northern Star, Polaris, etc. Using science vocabulary just seems to be targeting scientist and I'm sure they already have WAY better equipment than an android app. Really cool concept but I'm not impressed, needs updates/changes. TRY AGAIN GOOGLE
Rocio Smith 2022-07-06

0
The app works good but the constellation of Scorpio and Libra are off little bit. I don't know if it's the app but if I take off everything and just have the constellation right next to Sagittarius is this big black dot and I don't know if it may be a black hole or something but otherwise works pretty well.
James Lowry 2022-06-27

2
For what it is, it's great. It hasn't changed in approximately seven years, so if you're concerned about radical revamps of an app, you won't have to worry about that here. That said, I miss the ability to side step the "time travel" limitation of 100 years in the past. With a little messing around it was possible to go 2000 years or so without too much hassle. Huh... This app was also available for the Kindle fire back in the day. Maybe the version I speak of is still on my kindle...
Goat Fly 2022-06-27

35
As always with Google, they had a decent app- then continued to update it until its totally useless. I enjoyed it for a long time, now it doesn't track smoothly and it's inaccurate. I was looking at sunrise and the app showed it more than 40° off. Then trying to track to see what planet was with the moon, it was so wobbly and never got centered with the moon at all. Maybe a few more updates.
Jessy Lucero 2022-06-25

0
Great! My only complaint is that unless i lock the screen do that i can manually pan around, the compass is too jittery. Its still useable but kind of annoying. Ive tried recalibrating but it seems likes the compass is too sensitive. The screen wobbles even if the phone is completely still. Otherwise, im very happy with the app.